Motorists must file these reports within 10 days of the accident. You can find the form on the FLHSMV website. All the answers depend on a variety of different factors, including the severity of the accident and the insurance company's policy. However, the insurance policy usually gives you 24 hours to report an accident to them.
And when it comes to making a claim, Florida Statue 95.11 gives you four years to do so. In Florida, people involved in accidents are expected to report them as soon as possible and no later than 10 days after the accident occurred. If you were disabled because of the injuries caused by the accident, an occupant of the vehicle who can make those reports for you is allowed to do so for you or to wait until you are physically able to file the report. If you were the driver of the vehicle, but not the owner of the vehicle, and you were unable to make the report, the owner of the vehicle can file the report for you within 10 days of the accident.
Around 200,000 car accidents are reported in Florida every year. Having a car accident is regrettable and an accident can have a lasting impact on your life. In the state of Florida, you have up to 10 days to file a car accident report. It's a good idea to consult a personal injury lawyer before informing your insurance company of a car accident.
The further away you get from the incident, the more difficult it will be to gather evidence and defend your claim with your car insurance company. If you suffered material damage as a result of someone else's carelessness or recklessness, such as damage to your car, you can file a third-party insurance claim to claim the cost of repairing or replacing your vehicle. Car insurance policies are different, so it's highly recommended that you research the time frame your insurance provider gives you to file a car accident claim. Even if you're not injured and don't need access to your personal injury protection (PIP) policy and don't plan to file a claim against your own insurance for damage to your vehicle, you should report the accident to your insurer.
You might be wondering how much time you have to report your accident and if you really need to file a car insurance claim. If you've been involved in a car accident that resulted in injuries due to the negligence of another driver, contact an Orlando car accident lawyer right away. The answer will depend entirely on your insurance company and policies, as well as on the individual details of your insurance policy. Specifically, Florida Statute 316.066 requires that all car accidents that meet certain guidelines file a police report within 10 days of the car accident.
Most insurance policies require this and, if they don't, coverage will surely be denied for any damage suffered, but it can even cause the insurance company to decide to cancel your coverage. I attribute much of this not only to the firm's experience, but also to the relationships that Marnie has established with her experience working as an attorney at a major insurance company, which turned out to be the insurance company involved in my case. When a car accident happens, you should file a police report and then call your car insurance provider. You may need to negotiate with your own car insurance company and possibly with the other driver's insurance company.