Florida statute 627, 736 states that the insurer must accept or deny your claim within 30 days of filing. If you don't have all the information required to submit at once, the insurer has up to 30 days to pay the claim as soon as it receives each part of it. It's important to note that the statute of limitations is different for wrongful death cases. For these cases, the statute of limitations in Florida is only two years.
This means that if you have lost a loved one in a car accident caused by a negligent driver, you only have two years to file a lawsuit against the at-fault party. The rules for PIP claims are more clearly defined than the rules for other types of insurance claims. The first deadline is yours. You must seek medical treatment within 14 days to file a request for PIP benefits.
Once you file your claim, Florida law 627,736 (b) states that the insurer must pay or deny the claim within 30 days. If you don't have all the information to file the full claim all at once, the insurer has 30 days to pay the claim after receiving each part of the claim. You might be wondering how long the insurance company has to settle a claim in Florida and if you'll need to work with a car accident lawyer to get the compensation you need. If the fault may be related to the validity of the insurance coverage, the insurance company may need more time to investigate the claim.
The amount of time you will have to file an insurance claim after a car accident will vary depending on the insurer. Even though most insurance claims are approved, the insurance company can still deny your claim despite its validity. If you've filed a homeowners insurance claim and you think your insurer unfairly rejected your claim or offered you a low payment, you still have options. Florida has laws that apply to all car accident insurance policies and laws that apply specifically to PIP (no-fault) personal injury protection claims.
In addition to compensation for bad faith by the insurance company, you also have the option of filing a claim in a court of law to force the insurance company to pay you. To reach a general insurance agreement, the insurer only needs to investigate and pay or deny the claim within a reasonable period of time. In Florida, the statute of limitations for filing an auto insurance claim against an at-fault driver and their insurance company for personal injury or property damage is two years from the date of the accident. If someone in Florida files a homeowners insurance claim, the insurer reportedly has 30 days to confirm if the claim is covered, in part, or if it is still under investigation, if the consumer has requested this information in writing.
While most insurance claims are approved, the insurance company can deny your claim, even if it's valid.