Florida statute 627, 736 states that the insurer must accept or deny your claim within 30 days of filing. If you don't have all the information required to submit at once, the insurer has up to 30 days to pay the claim as soon as it receives each part of it. In Florida, filing an insurance claim late may result in your benefits being denied. To file your insurance claims under your PIP policy, you must seek medical treatment within two weeks or 14 days after the car accident.
If you wait too long after a car accident to file a claim, the insurance company may argue that your injuries are not related to the accident. Florida residents have a deadline to file a car accident claim. This deadline is within four years from the date of the accident. Missing the deadline could mean that any case that doesn't meet the deadline can and will likely be dismissed.
In these car accident cases, although you may have already received compensation from your insurance policy, you can still choose to file a personal injury lawsuit against the negligent driver or the at-fault party. Car insurance policies vary depending on how long you have to report your car accident in Florida, so you'll need to check with your insurance to determine this time frame. In addition to this 14-day deadline, your insurance company has 60 days to review your car accident case. Regardless of who caused the car accident in Florida, victims of car accidents should contact their insurance company to file a claim under their PIP insurance policy.
As a no-fault state, people involved in a car accident must first file a claim with their insurance company.